Quote for the week

I like quotes. I like peoples signature quotes. So I’m going to have a quote for the week, which has been begged, borrowed or stolen from various internet sources and personalities/crackpots.

Today:

“LOL, I think that I am the one that is missing something. Because I fail to see how “glyphosate” resistant weeds is an arguement FOR evolution. I do not even know what glyphosate is so how can that be evidence for anything. Maybe for you it is evidence, for me it is just a word that I do not know the meaning of.”

JohnR7, Christian Forums, 2006-Sep-19 taken from FSTDT.com

One day I’m going to do a post on logical fallacies, but for now, who can pick the major one in this quote?

Explore posts in the same categories: Quotes

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Quote for the week”


  1. Argument from Personal Incredulity I cannot explain or understand this, therefore it cannot be true. Creationists are fond of arguing that they cannot imagine the complexity of life resulting from blind evolution, but that does not mean life did not evolve.

    (Couldn’t find it on Nizkor though, does it still count? Which is a pity, as Nizkor is a fine site)

  2. ambrielle Says:

    Hi Nic, yes, you are right. I couldn’t find it in Nizkor either, but I decided that was a nice all-round site. It should have it, since as you say, it’s a pretty common fallacy with the creationist crowd!

  3. jdc Says:

    “I think that I am the one that is missing something.” Heh. How true.

    Looking forward to your post on logical fallacies!

  4. PalMD Says:

    That is the first time i’ve heard “argument from ignorance”, at least as such. It’s the hands-over-the-ears-la-la-la-im-not-listening argument. Bejeebus!

  5. troubledjoe Says:

    I do not even know what glyphosate is so how can that be evidence for anything.

    If ever there was an argument FOR darwinism it is statements like that –
    I dont know how gravity works, so I’m going to walk out of the window.
    Oh s
    h
    i
    i
    i
    t
    !


Leave a Reply

